Tough Going

12 Feb

Well I’ve managed to bang a few miles out this week, a 10 miler and a couple of 6 milers.

Although the 6 miles yesterday were extremely painful, I was shattered and heavy legged after about half a mile! The good news however was that about 6 month to a year ago I would have turned round, headed back home and give up. Yesterday however I ploughed on head down and struggled all the way round the planned 6 miles and have to say it felt like the most satisfying 6 miles I have ever ran. Today’s 6 miles felt better, but only just.

Whilst running though it got me to thinking about how much I am really enjoying it at the moment and also what I would like to achieve this year and I have decided I have a couple of goals to try and do! But they come in a three tiered plan, the first of which is what I think I can achieve, the second is what I would love to achieve and finally the third is ‘Sod it lets give it a damn good go’.

So my first goal is to get my Stewart Park parkrun down under 23 minutes, I would love to get it below 22:30 and if I can give it a damn good go…… How about below 22 minutes.

The second is to get myself a 10k pb, which currently stands at 55:24 (Sabic Tees 10k), I would love to get this down to under 50 minutes and Fat lazy body allowing how cool would it be to get it under 45 minutes (I’ve always been a bit of a dreamer lol).

My third and final plan for this year is to enter and complete a half marathon, ideally under two hours, but never having run that far i’m not sure how possible that is lol

It’s not looking like I will be taking part in the Flamingo 10k in March, as we are at a friends 60th Birthday party the night before. So it looks like my first race of the year will be the Marina 5 mile, assuming there are spaces left when I get paid at the end of the month (spent too much on car insurances and kids Birthdays this month already lol).

Anyway, thats me done for a while. Enjoy your running

One Response to “Tough Going”

  1. marianmckenna February 12, 2015 at 4:34 pm #

    Reblogged this on Running.

Leave a Reply

Midlife Gamer

Because thumbs last longer than hips

playwithlifeorg

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

mrtoise

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

Health Center

Health Center has a lot of healthy eating tips and recipes, and fun ways to exercise. Health Center is here to help you and your kids eat well and move more

iGameMom

Games for Learning

Spots-of-Joy

Discover, perfect and enjoy the things that make life great!

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

